Athletics Canada names 21 athletes who will compete in the Team Sprint Challenge at Vancouver Sun Harry Jerome Track Classic

Ottawa – Athletics Canada, in partnership with the Vancouver Sun Harry Jerome Track Classic, announced today the 21 athletes who will compete in the Team Sprint Challenge – a 10-event dual meet between the fastest sprinters from Canada and China – on June 26 and 27 at Swangard Stadium.

The Canadian team, led by Athletics Canada head coach Glenroy Gilbert, will feature triple Olympic medallist Andre De Grasse, members of the men’s Olympic bronze medal-winning 4x100-metre relay team, Canadian/NCAA Champion Sage Watson and more.

“It’s an honour to compete in Canada’s longest running track and field meet. Our relay teams understand the calibre of the event that will take place in front of a home crowd, recognizing that they are up against a strong contingent from China. Our teams feature a mix of world-class and upcoming athletes, we look forward to a spirited match,” said Gilbert.“It’ll be an excellent tune up for our athletes, a week out from the Canadian Championships and a month from the NACAC Championships. We look to capitalize on this opportunity and carry the momentum into Toronto.”

Tickets for the Harry Jerome Track Classic are on sale now at (individual, group, VIP and two-day event passes). Last year, the event sold out and this year’s event promises to be the best yet, therefore, track and field fans are encouraged to act fast.

For those who can’t make it to Swangard Stadium, will webcast the two-day meet starting at 6:30 p.m. PT each day.

Complete list of Canadian athletes and staff named to the team:

Women’s 4x100-metre relay


Personal coach


Khamica Bingham

Dennis Shaver

Brampton Track Club

Leya Buchanan

Tony Sharpe

Speed Academy

Farah Jacques

Hugh Conlin


Whitney Rowe

Daveon Collins


Leah Walkeden

Wes Moerman

Green and Gold Track

Men’s 4x100-metre relay


Personal coach


Mobolade Ajomale

Kevin LaSure

Flying Angels

Bismark Boateng

Charles Allen


Aaron Brown

Dennis Mitchell

Star Athletics

Andre De Grasse

Stuart McMillan

Speedy Academy

Sam Effah

Desai Williams

University of Calgary

Gavin Smellie

Desai Williams

Flying Angels

Women’s 4x400-metre relay


Personal coach


Alicia Brown

Bob Westman

University of Toronto

Micha Powell

Rosey Edeh


Madeline Price

Mark Mueller


Aiyanna Stiverne

Ronald Morency

Pelican de Rosemont

Sage Watson

Fred Harvey


Men’s 4x400-metre relay


Personal coach


Austin Cole

Rob Fisher

Capital City

Tremaine Harris

Desai Williams


Daniel Harper

Frank Bucca

Brampton Track Club

Philip Osei

Desai Williams

Flying Angels

Khamal Stewart-Baynes

Steve Howell

House of Roots




Glenroy Gilbert

Head coach

Charles Allen

Assistant coach

Corey Dempsey


Garfield Crooks

Massage therapist

Dr. Simon Pearson


Dana Way


About the Harry Jerome Track Classic

The Harry Jerome Track Classic is Canada’s longest-running track and field event. In its 35-year history, World and Olympic champions, world record holders, Canadian stars and young hopefuls have thrilled spectators, achieved personal bests and, thanks to the vision and dedication of the Achilles International Track and Field Society, continued in their quest to become faster, higher and stronger.

The Vancouver Sun Harry Jerome Track Classic is hosted by the Achilles International Track & Field Society, a non-profit society registered in British Columbia. Net proceeds from this event support track and field competition in B.C.

For more information on the Harry Jerome Track Classic and the Team Sprint Challenge, visit

- end -

Back to releases

Last Tweet

More Tweets

AC on Instagram

More moments

Visit our E-store

Follow us!