Hall of fame

Fell, Graeme

hall of fame logo

For more information about Athletics Canada’s Hall of Fame visit the virtual AC HoF.


  • Membership in the Hall of Fame is open to athletes/teams, coaches and builders (officials, administrators, and volunteers) who have shown outstanding excellence in the sport of Athletics

  • Nominees must have made a significant contribution to the growth and development of the sport, including their dedication to the highest ideals of competition

  • Athlete nominees must have achieved significant success in international competition and be retired from international competition for a minimum of three years. Athletes may be nominated as individuals or as members of a relay team.

  • Coach nominees must have achieved significant success in international or national competition over a sustained period.

  • Builder nominees may be active or inactive at the time of their nomination. Persons nominated as builders must have demonstrated that they have made a significant contribution to the development of the sport over a sustained period.

  • Nominees must have held Canadian citizenship or Canadian residency over the course of their careers.

  • Deceased athletes, coaches and builders are eligible for consideration for the “In Memoriam” category.


  • Nominations will be sought on an annual basis

  • A Club, Branch or individual may submit nominations in each of the athlete/ team, coach, and builder categories.

  • Nominees will be considered for induction in the year nominated, and, if requested by the nominator, for up to two successive years thereafter.

  • In the event that a nominee is not selected for induction within the three‐year period, the nomination will be declared inactive and may only be resubmitted after a period of four years has elapsed.

  • A maximum of three pages of supporting documentation may accompany each nomination.


  • A Hall of Fame Selection Committee, appointed by Athletics Canada, will evaluate nominees on the basis of the significance and scope of their achievements, their dedication to their sport, the consistency of their performance, and personal qualities that reflect the values of Athletics Canada on and off the field.

  • A maximum of five Athlete nominees, three “In Memoriam” nominees, one Coach nominee and one Builder nominee will be selected annually for induction into the Hall of Fame.

  • The Selection Committee, after review of the submitted nominations, may solicit additional nominations and support if they feel that one of the following situations exists:

    1. There are no nominations for a particular category

    2. None of the nominations meet the general guidelines

    3. Special circumstances exist whereby a particular person should be given consideration, even if not nominated.

2015 Hall of Fame inductee Danny Daniels featured on CTV News

Danny Daniels will be inducted to Athletics Canada’s Hall of Fame on July 24, 2015. Danny was recently featured...
Learn more

Club Opportunity: Fundraiser at Pan Am themed Alumni Party

Athletics Canada is calling on clubs in the Greater Toronto Area to take part in an exciting fundraising opportunity....
Learn more

Tickets now on sale for the Pan Am Games Alumni Party

Tickets are now on sale for Athletics Canada’s Pan Am Games Alumni Party featuring the induction of the 2015 Hall...
Learn more

Last Tweet

  • Elizabeth Gleadle enters action in 5min in Group B of women's javelin qualifying ,
  • Going into decathlon 400m in silver medal position with 3587pts, Ashton Eaton leads competition with 3643pts. ,
More Tweets

AC on Instagram

  • Well hello there and good morning everyone in 🇨🇦. Big night at the track in Beijing  with Christabel Nettey in the long jump final, Charles Philibert-Thiboutot in 1500m semis, and Liz Gleadle in javelin qualifying. #beijing2015 #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • Derek Drouin flies over 2.31m to qualify for the men's high jump final #beijing2015 #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • Damian Warner's quest for the decathlon podium is officially underway. Records the 2nd fastest time in the 100m, 10.31 for 1020pts. #beijing2015 #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • That finishing kick though. #beijing2015 #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • #TBT to August 2013 in Sherbrooke at the Canada Games where @de6rasse won gold in the 100m (10.49), 200m (21.38), & 4x100m (40.02). Andre was only a couple of months into a career that has already produced NCAA titles, Pan Am titles and a World Champs bronze #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • That moment when you realize you set a Canadian record, advance to a Worlds final and set a 2-second PB. Congrats @melissacorinneb on advancing to the women's 800m final. 1:57.52. #beijing2015 #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • Happy #nationaldogday track & field fans. #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • Here's another teaser of our new addition to Available Friday am. #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • 🇨🇦 Day 5 summary in 📷. Mohammed Ahmed advances to 5000m final. Fiona Benson & Melissa Bishop to 800m semis. Jonathan Cabral & Sekou Kaba to 110mH semis. Kim Hyacinthe & Khamica Bingham to 200m semis. #beijing2015
  • #Repost @runnerspace ・・・
Hey, @champagnepapi, we found your next song idea!

You guys think we can get Drake to rap about @athleticscanada sprint star @de6rasse?

#beijing2015 #canada #tracknation #runnerspace #drake #the6ix
  • Update - Mohammed has been reinstated following a successful appeal. He will race in the final.... Watch the 5000m finish as Mohammed Ahmed places 3rd to advance to the final. 13:19.58 SB #Beijing2015
  • Keep those 👀 peeled, this is coming soon to We'll share another photo of these beauties in the morning.
  • Mohammed Ahmed & Cam Levins get things rolling for 🇨🇦 at 9:35PM ET in the men's 5000m heats. Tune into cbcsports.cato watch it live. #Beijing2015 #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • 🇨🇦🇨🇦🇨🇦🇨🇦🇨🇦 What a moment just now in the Bird's Nest. For the first time in 12-years O'Canada rang out loud and proud at a World Championships. Congrats Shawn Barber on receiving your gold medal. #proudcanadians #Beijing2015 #AthleticsCanada #AthletismeCanada
  • Do you see it, 👍 or 👎? ・・・
It would seem gold medallist in pole vault at #Beijing2015 Shawnacy Barber has a royal doppelgänger in Prince Harry. This according to CBC's Anson Henry who mentions the similarity in the latest instalment of THE STARTING BLOCK, Anson's track and field daily web series. Catch today's episode on the CBC Sports App available on the iTunes and Google Play stores. #royal #doppelganger #twinsies #matching #polevault #ncaa #barber @vaultbarber @princeharry_w #princeharry
More moments

Visit our E-store

Follow us!

National partners