Championship Series

Marathon Champs

Canadian Marathon Championships

October 21, 2018
Toronto, Ontario

Elite hosting

Only applications submitted through the online elite application form are considered.

All athletes must have run on a certified course since Jan. 1, 2017.

An elite athlete application does not guarantee entry. All applications must be approved by the CRS Race Director and Professional Athlete Coordinator.

We will inform each applicant of their elite status one week after the application deadline. Best efforts will be made to offer early acceptance where possible.

Please submit your 2018 elite application here. Applications will close July 27.

Elite standards

2018 Elite Standards: Full marathon


Open — sub 2:10:00
Sub Elite — sub 2:20:00
Masters — sub 2:23:00


Open — sub 2:30:00
Sub Elite — sub 2:45:00
Masters — sub 2:50:00

Marathon prizing

Open Men and Women

Based on gun time.

All amounts in Canadian dollars. 

1st — $30,000
2nd — $15,000
3rd — $10,000

4th — $6,000
5th — $4,000
6th — $2,000

Plus, for winners only:

Course and Canadian all-comers record [sub 2:06:52] = C$40,000
IF new time is sub 2:06:30, add an additional C$10,000 for a total C$50,000 prize.

Course record [sub 2:22:43] = C$40,000.
Canadian all-comers record [sub 2:22:17], add an additional C$10,000 for a C$50,000 prize.

Canadian national records (Canadian citizens only)

Based on gun time.

C$1,000 for every year that Jerome Drayton’s 2:10:09 record has stood [Fukuoka 1975]. Thus, for STWM 2018, the bonus will be C$43,000. (Note: IF record falls before Oct. 21, 2018, then bonus for a new record will be $30,000).

C$30,000 bonus for new record [currently Lanni Marchant’s 2:28:00, set at STWM 2013].

Masters men and Masters women overall — marathon

Based on gun time.

1st — $1,000
2nd — $500
3rd — $250

(open to Canadian citizens, Athletics Canada registered athletes ONLY)

Based on gun time.

1st — $5,000
2nd — $3,000
3rd — $2,000
4th — $1,000
5th — $300
6th — $200

* minus 50% for slower than 2:15:00 and 2:35:00 (men and women); minus 75% for slower than 2:18:00 and 2:40:00 (men and women)

Top Ontario male and female — marathon

Based on gun time.

Male: Ed Whitlock Trophy + commemorative plaque
Female: Silvia Ruegger Trophy + commemorative plaque

Note: The athletes who win overall prize money (international-class and/or Canadian bonuses — national-class) in the marathon will be excluded from the Whitlock Trophy and Ruegger Trophy competitions, making them truly a recognition of top regional (Ontario) runners.

Age categories Open Men and Women — marathon

Based on chip time.

18-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39

Note: You must be 18 years of age or older to participate in the marathon. Medallions for top three males and females in each age group.

Note: Winners of the Overall Open category are not eligible for the age group category prizing.

Masters age categories — marathon

Based on chip time.

40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74, 75+

Medallions for top three males and females in each age group.

Note: Winners of the Overall Masters category are not eligible for the age group category prizing.

Cameron Levins breaks Canadian marathon record; Marathon debutant Kinsey Middleton crowned 2018 Canadian Champion

Heading into the 2018 Canadian Marathon Championships three things were on everyone’s mind. How would the elite field –...
Learn more

Former and defending Canadian Champions set to compete in Marathon Championships Sunday

OTTAWA– The 2018 Canadian Marathon Championships, held in partnership with the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon, return to the streets...
Learn more

How to Watch the 2018 Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon

By Paul Gains Running fans across the globe will once again be able to catch all the action at...
Learn more

Last Tweet

  • Did you know Charles Philibert-Thiboutot used to be the lead singer in a punk rock band? Read "The Essential CPT" a… ,
  • 48-hours to go in our 30% OFF Flash Sale on ALL men's and women's bottoms and ALL accessories at… ,
More Tweets

AC on Instagram

More moments

Visit our E-store

Follow us!