About us

Committees

Please refer to the information below for the composition of Athletics Canada committees. 

PDF Copy

To see the types of committees, committee guidelines, mandates and committee duties please refer to Section II of Athletics Canada’s Rules and Bylaws.

Athlete's Council

Mandate: The purpose of the Athlete’s Council is to advise the Board through the Athlete Directors on matters related to AC national team athletes.

Composition: 

The Council will be composed of the two Athlete Directors who will be the Co-Chairs of the Council. The Athlete Directors will appoint to the Council between six and twelve athletes who bring diverse perspectives, experience, and knowledge of athletics in Canada. The Council may also request an AC staff member to attend Council meetings in a non-voting (ex-officio) administrative capacity. 

Co-Chairs – Charles Philibert-Thiboutot (pt_charles@hotmail.com), Jillian Drouin (kaleandjillian@gmail.com) and Jennifer Brown (jennbrown80@gmail.com)         

Finance

Mandate: The purpose of the Finance Committee is to assist the Board in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities related to corporate auditing and reporting, financial policies and strategies, and financial risk management.

Composition:

Chair – Robert Demers (rdemers.run@gmail.com)

Chief Executive Officer – Rob Guy (rguy@athletics.ca)

Individuals appointed by the Board (up to three) – Larry Harper (larrygharper@telus.net) /
Nancy Lee (nclee22@gmail.com), Marc Lalonde (marc@benchmarkic.com)  

Athlete Representative (as designated by the Athlete Directors) – Charles Philibert-Thiboutot (pt_charles@hotmail.com Chair of the Board (ex-officio) – Bill MacMackin (bill@selectfh.ca)

Chief Financial Officer (ex-officio, support) – Sylvie King (Sylvie.King@athletics.ca)

Governance and Nominating

Mandate: The purpose of the Governance Committee is to oversee matters of governance including formulating and recommending governance principles and policies, assisting in the development of appropriate documentation, and enhancing the quality of nominees to the Board of Directors and to committees. Act as or appoint the Nominating Committee to oversee the development of appropriate documentation and enhancing the quality of nominees to the Board of Directors and to committees.

Composition:

Chair – Jason Woycheshyn (woycheshynj@bennettjones.com)

One appointee from the Branch Council (who is not seeking election) – Grant Mitchell (info@grantmitchelladr.com)               

Chief Executive Officer – Rob Guy (rguy@athletics.ca)

Athlete Representative (as designated by the Athlete Directors) – Jillian Drouin (kaleandjillian@gmail.com)

External Resource – Kevin Lawrie (KRL@sportlaw.ca)

Board Chair (ex-officio) – Bill MacMackin (bill@selectfh.ca)

Board Secretary (ex-officio, support) – Judy McCallum (Judy.McCallum@athletics.ca)

Human Resources

Mandate: The purpose of the Human Resources Committee is to assist the Board in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities related to human resources policies and the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) succession.  The Committee will also report to the Board on the performance of the Chief Executive Officer. Advise the CEO regarding the hiring and termination of all members of the C-Suite of Athletics Canada, including COO, CFO, and High Performance Director (HPD).

Composition:

Chair – Bill MacMackin (bill@selectfh.ca

Individuals appointed by the Board (up to four) / Nancy Lee (nclee22@gmail.com), Robert Demers (rdemers.run@gmail.com), Helen Manning (helenmanning@rogers.com), Jillian Drouin (kaleandjillian@gmail.com)  

Chief Executive Officer – Rob Guy (rguy@athletics.ca)

Athlete Representative (as designated by the Athlete Directors) – Jillian Drouin (kaleandjillian@gmail.com)           

Chief Financial Officer (ex-officio, support) – Sylvie King (Sylvie.King@athletics.ca)

Rules

Mandate: The purpose of the Rules Committee is to receive and review proposed rule changes and advise the Board on amendments to rules.

Composition:

Chair – Tim Berrett (caminata.tim@gmail.com) / Alice Kubek (akubek@shaw.ca) / Evelyn Nesdole / Enrico Toscano / Dave Thomas

Athlete Representative (as designated by the Athlete Directors) – Jennifer Brown (jennbrown80@gmail.com)       
Board Chair (ex-officio) – Bill MacMackin (bill@selectfh.ca)

Board Secretary (ex-officio, support) – Judy McCallum (Judy.McCallum@athletics.ca)

Awards

Mandate: The purpose of the Awards Committee is to identify criteria for Athletics Canada awards and criteria for eligibility for the Athletics Canada Hall of Fame. The Committee will solicit and evaluate nominations for awards and the Hall of Fame and determine award winners and inductees.

Composition:

Chair – Mathieu Gentès (mgentes@athletics.ca)

Individuals appointed by the Board (up to five) – Paul Gains (pgains@golden.net) / Roman Olzewski (roman.otfa@cogeco.ca) / Doug Clement (dclement007@gmail.com) / Hugh Conlin (hfconlin@icloud.com) / Alice Kubek (akubek@shaw.ca)

Branch Representative (as designated by the Branch Council) – Marcus Bill (markus@prime-travel.com)

Athlete Representative (as designated by the Athlete Directors) – Evan Dunfee (evandunfee@gmail.com) / Jillian Drouin (kaleandjillian@gmail.com)

Manager, Communications and Marketing – Amanda Nigh (Amanda.Nigh@athletics.ca)

Competition

Mandate: To select the host, or the bid to go forward, of national championships and events.

Composition:

Chair – Helen Manning (helenmanning@rogers.com)

Athlete Representative (two designated by the Athlete Directors) – Jillian Drouin (kaleandjillian@gmail.com) / TBD
Branch Representatives (two designated by the Branch Council) – Anitra Stevens (athletics@sportnovascotia.ca) / Andrew Walker (walker.andrew@kent.ca)

Athletics Canada staff – Mathieu Gentès (mgentes@athletics.ca)

Coach / Official – Simon Nathan (Simon.Nathan@athletics.ca)

National Team

Mandate: The purpose of the National Team Committee is to design, deliver, implement and evaluate National Team Policies to fulfill Athletics Canada’s high performance goals and objectives in a transparent and accountable manner.

Composition:

Chair – Simon Nathan (Simon.Nathan@athletics.ca)

Athletics Canada Technical Staff (two, appointed by the CEO) – Carla Nicholls (cnicholls@athletics.ca)

/ Molly Killingbeck (Molly.Killingbeck@athletics.ca)

Event Group Experts (two, appointed by the CEO) –

/ Glenroy Gilbert (Glenroy.Gilbert@athletics.ca) / Heather Hennigar (hhennigar@athletics.ca)

Branch Representatives (two, as designated by Branch Council) – Bruce Deacon (bdeacon1@gmail.com)

 / Ingrid Ruys (iruys@athletics.ca)

Athlete Representative (up to two, as designated by the Athlete Directors) – Charles Philibert-Thiboutot (pt_charles@hotmail.com)  / Jillian Drouin (kaleandjillian@gmail.com)   
Athletics Canada staff (ex-officio, support) – Jared MacLeod (jmacleod@athletics.ca)

Officials

Mandate: The purpose of the Officials Committee is to design, coordinate, and evaluate programs to develop and improve the performance of athletics officials.

Composition:

Chair – Andrew Walker (walker.andrew@kent.ca)

Active Officials (up to three, appointed by the CEO) – Colin Inglis (colin.inglis@uwindsor.ca)  / Lloyd Howey (howeyl@shaw.ca) /Helen Vasilich (vasilich@sympatico.ca)

Active Officials (up to three, as designated by Branch Council) – David Weicker (dweicker@shaw.ca) / Jane Edstrom (janeedstrom@mts.net) / Gilles Rochette (Sportvision@outlook.com)

Athlete Representative (as designated by the Athlete Directors) – Angela Whyte (a.whyte11@gmail.com)

Athletics Canada staff (ex-officio, support, appointed by the CEO) – John Lofranco (jlofranco@athletics.ca)

Coaching

Mandate: The purpose of the Coaching Committee is to design, coordinate, and evaluate programs to develop and improve the performance of athletics Coaches.

Composition:

Chair – Lynne Kanuka (lynnkanuka@gmail.com)

Reps from each provincial branch – TBD

Athletics Canada staff (ex-officio, support, appointed by the CEO) – John Lofranco (jlofranco@athletics.ca)

Branch Council

Mandate: The Branch Council is an Independent Committee of Athletics Canada (AC). The Council is responsible for maintaining effective communication between and among Members and AC, and for advising the Board and AC committees on matters of importance most notably to the development of the sport of athletics at the local and provincial level.

Composition:

The Council will be composed of up to two representatives appointed by each Member. Each Member will have the discretion to determine the method of appointment of its representative, and the term to be served. A member may change or remove its representative from the Council at any time. Each Member will notify the Chair of the Council and AC in writing of the appointment of its representative and of any change of representative.

#ThanksCoach – National Coaches Week

National Coaches Week is a week to celebrate the tremendous positive impact coaches have on athletes and communities across...
Learn more

Athletics Canada’s East Hub to host final High Performance Coaching Clinic ahead of 2018 outdoor season

Ottawa – Athletics Canada announced today that it will host a High Performance Coaching Clinic at its East Hub...
Learn more

Athletics Canada’s East Hub to host third High Performance Coaching Clinic on Feb. 17

Athletics Canada announced today that it will host a High Performance Coaching Clinic at its East Hub in Toronto...
Learn more

Last Tweet

@AthleticsCanada
More Tweets

AC on Instagram

More moments

Visit our E-store

Follow us!